I’m Not an Artist, but I Play One On TV.

About a month ago I (rather foolishly) volunteered to make a webpage for a local artists’ open studio. The site went live last week, and I figured I may as well share it. It was, shall I say, an interesting venture. Besides being reminded that things like this always consume far more time than anticipated, I learned:

  • Designing a site for people who are themselves designers is an exercise in frustration.
  • Things I learned a decade ago are not quite as clear in my mind as they once were.
  • Things I learned a decade ago are now poor practice.
  • The FTP interface for Netfirms is quite possibly the buggiest thing ever.

Despite all of this, there’s still some fun art on the site, so if you’re interested check it out. If you happen to live in the greater Portland metro area you could even attend. I hear they have cookies.

Leave a Reply

