Really Now?

Soooo. Blizzard. RealID. By now anyone that has even a passing interest in the Internet has probably got wind of their plan to extend RealID into your posts on the official Blizzard forums. If not.. well.. check it out here.

This isn’t going to happen. Take a look at that list. At this time of this writing, it’s at 1473 pages (that’s closing in on 30,000 posts), and gaining a page every ~60 seconds (I timed it). I sampled over a dozen of the pages in this, and they’re all negative. To say that people that are okay with it are a minority is an understatement. It’s like finding a needle in a haystack. Blizzard has managed to offend their entire fanbase, a feat for which they should be given a medal if it wasn’t so fucking stupid.

Despite all my frothing and raging over the past six years I have never, not once, considered cancelling my subscription because of something Blizzard did. If this went live, I would cancel in a heartbeat. I am, however, quite confident I will be playing WoW for some time to come. Not even a man who seeks the death of gaming itself can ignore this large of a negative response. Screw ethics; if this goes live, players will quit en masse, making this a colossally retarded thing to push through no matter how you view the world.

In short, this isn’t going live. If it does, I will eat my boots. And then quit WoW.

Leave a Reply

