Tinfoil Hat Time.

I have several friends who purchased Lord of the Rings Online during the $10 special period of PAX. I’m too cheap even for that, but I did pick up a free trial to play with them. I don’t have anything in particular to say about LotRO itself, but I did find a feature of the class I chose, the Rune Keeper, that I quite liked. Basically, you had both damage and healing spells. As you used either damage or healing spells, you would become more “attuned” to that route, making subsequent spells of the same type more powerful, or even unlocking new powers. The cost was the ability to cast spells of the other type.

This allows for a versatile character able to swap roles quite literally in the middle of a fight. It also allows someone to be a healer yet still nicely solo. (Yes, dual spec took care of that as well, but I think this is a more eloquent solution.)

So, what happens mere days after I discover this little gem? Blizzard releases the Priest Cataclysm previews. (Oh, yeah. Spoilers ahead.) I have to say, the more I read about Cataclysm the more excited I get. While some things like the lack of Spirit buffs or the SP on weapons being part of the item cost I’m a bit iffy on, most things I am not. Like freaking HOLY GRIP. Seriously, I can save people from being stupid. But I digress.

Holy priests are (according to the release) going to be able to “specialize” their heals. Casting good tank heals will improve your ability to tank heal. The same goes for AoE healing, and maybe more specializations will be added. I’m super excited about this, not only because I like to be able to do everything, but also because of the progression of raid fights. This will make transitioning between tank-damage fights and raid-damage fights a cinch.

…also holy grip.

Seriously, that shit is going to be amazing.

Gripping the flag carrier across WSG, pulling hunters into the dead zone, gripping tanks at inappropriate times… yeah. It’s going to be amazing.

Done now.

Leave a Reply

