I Broke Pandora.

Lately I’ve been using Pandora as a way to make my music collection even more absurdly eclectic. This has been going quite well, and I now have dozens of songs by bands I’d never even heard of, and been convinced to further sample others that the world dismissed as one hit wonders. However, as A) my music tastes are odd by almost any metric, and B) I actively rate songs, I appear to be a hazard to the song generation formula. After going through and rating a half dozen or so of the previous songs, Pandora generated its “Taking longer than usual to determine the next song” error. I realize there are a variety of factors that can achieve this, but I like to think I just confused the thing. Mostly because the next thing it did was apologise for failing to save my new criteria, and then crash my web browser.

Leave a Reply

